#69 – If you don’t like something, change it; if you can’t change it, change the way you think about it. Mary Engelbreit

 When I get to obsessing about something that I can do nothing about, I do simple math problems in my head.  This changes my focus from the right side of the brain (the feeling, intuitive side) to the left side of the brain (the detail-oriented, logic side).   The result is usually peace and a good night’s sleep.  Give it a try and see if this works for you when thinking about someone or something is keeping you up nights. 
 
Check out my e-book Evaleen the Queen at http://goo.gl/AQlat,  an inspirational work of fiction  about a young woman who starts a business under terrible family circumstances during the Great Depression.

 

About sand1

When I was young, I made a lot of bad choices. The only way I knew to dig myself and my family out was to go to the library, always hoping that the next book I read would change my life. And often many of them did. Out of gratitude for the happy life I have now, I decided to share what I have learned, usually the hard way, and hope that it will help you too. I will try to keep my Tuesday Tips short as I realize everyone has limited time these days. Hope they help you as much as they continue to help me. Sand
This entry was posted in action, affirmative contemplation, attitude, happiness, Inspiration, kindness and compassion, life and love, life coach, Motivational, new thought, positive psychology, Positive Thinking, relationships, Self Help, Success. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to #69 – If you don’t like something, change it; if you can’t change it, change the way you think about it. Mary Engelbreit

  1. aporia says:

    Seems useful :]

  2. sand1 says:

    Thanks. I just hope it helps.

    Sand

  3. mspennylane says:

    I’m going to try this one. Something I have a problem with is just not letting go of thoughts going round my head, so hopefully this will help :)

  4. sand1 says:

    It’s not always easy to stop those thoughts going round and round. Sometimes if I don’t want to do math problems, I’ll just say a number like one, one, one, one. I think everyone has this problem sometimes. Thanks for the feedback.

    Sandy

  5. Edith says:

    “If you don’t like something change it. If you can’t change it, change your attitude. Don’t complain.”
    Maya Angelou

  6. sand1 says:

    Good one, Edith. Thanks. Amazing how many people say the same exact thing and just change a few words. I like the “don’t complain” or as one other wag put it, “Never complain, never explain.” Easier said than done, of course, but definitely worth trying.

    Sandy

  7. Kayci says:

    You didn’t say that, Maya Angelou did!!!

    • sand1 says:

      Maya Angelou and Oprah and Mary Engelbreit and probably some Greek philosopher said it as well as several other people. Mary Englebreit was the one I found that day. The thought is not original.

  8. You my good friend are a genius

  9. Your blog was helpful and I liked how you composed it. Thanks. I will be reading more in the future.

  10. sand1 says:

    Thanks to you all. It means a lot to me to hear what you have to say. My initial goal in writing the blog was to help myself and others. That remains my goal even now a few years later. And it’s wonderful when it actually happens.

  11. luljeta says:

    this is so helpful to me :) thanks

    • sand1 says:

      Sorry I’m so late in responding but just wanted you to know that this is one of my favorites too. I discovered that I really am in charge of what I think and I don’t need to think about what will ultimately hurt me.
      Thanks for caring.

      Sandra

  12. sand1 says:

    My latest practice is if I know that something is going to hurt my feelings and it is not something I can learn from or change, I use this tactic to avoid thinking about it. Life is way too short and I don’t want to waste a minute being unhappy if it serves no purpose.

Leave a Reply

