#133 – Don’t Let Your Emotions Run Your Life by Scott E. Spradlin, MD.

You can have your emotions as long as you have them, but you don’t need to act on them.  The anger or sadness you are feeling may be inside of you at present, but it isn’t who you are.  Try shifting your thoughts from, “I am angry” to “there is anger or sadness” within me.”  

 Good luck with this and love to you on this fine September morning. 

 Sandy

About sand1

When I was young, I made a lot of bad choices. The only way I knew to dig myself and my family out was to go to the library, always hoping that the next book I read would change my life and thankfully, often many of them did. Out of gratitude for the happy life I have now, I decided to share what I have learned, and continue to learn. I hope that Tuesday Tips helps you as much as they have helped and continue to help me. Sand
This entry was posted in happiness, Inspiration, life and love, life coach, Motivational, new thought, positive psychology, Positive Thinking, Self Help, Success. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #133 – Don’t Let Your Emotions Run Your Life by Scott E. Spradlin, MD.

  1. Marija says:

    I think when you say “there is anger within me” you are externalizing your own emotion giving it power and material form it doesn’t have thus losing control over your emotions. After all, as you said, we are not our emotions but emotions are the part of us that we are able to control. So, maybe it’s better to say simply “I feel angry/sad etc.”.

    Regards,
    Marija

    • sand1 says:

      If you say I feel angry or sad it seems to me that you are also giving it power, although internally. But whatever works is a good thing. Thanks for the suggestion. Hopefully it will help someone who is having a hard time today.

Leave a Reply

